Breaking: Bagbin elected Speaker of the 8th Parliament?

The former member of Parliament (MP) for Nadowli Kaleo and former second deputy speaker of the 7th Parliament, Alban Kingsford Sumani Bagbin, has been elected speaker for the 8th Parliament of the Fourth Republic.

Notwithstanding to that,  it had been a marathon of confusion on the floor of Parliament right from the dissolution of the 7th Parliament all through to the election of the new Ghana’s speaker for the 8th Parliament.

An election process which started moment after 12:00am January 7th 2021 ran through the night to about 7:00am.

The provisional results suggest that the National Democratic Congress (NDC) side of the house beat the New Patriotic Party (NPP) side with three votes to put Mr. Bagbin ahead of former speaker of Parliament, Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye who was re-nominated as the NPP’s candidate.

Source: Trustfmonline

Read Also:  Covid-19 - Some MPs have tested positive -Speaker of parliament

Related posts

Leave a Comment